The Coast Guard gift history in Collingswood, New Jersey began with the organization on February 15, 1915. The first cutter stationed in Collingswood was the Grafton which served as a training vessel for future Coast Guardsmen. On July 1, 1916, the Board of Governors of the Coast Guard decided to create a separate branch within the service called the Auxiliary Service Corps. Captain Harry Wertheimer was appointed Commandant of this new corps and started its formation on September 1st. The Auxiliary Service Corps grew rapidly and by 1922 there were over fifty units located throughout New Jersey and Pennsylvania. The corps played an important role during World War II and provided manpower to many tasks including search and rescue, anti-submarine warfare, air traffic control and more. In 1945, when wars ended, the Auxiliary Service Corps was disbanded but its legacy lives on today as part of the Coast Guard Reserve Unit program.
Coast Guard gift is an excellent way to show your appreciation for the Coast Guard. A coast guard gift can be something as simple as a token, like a coin or badge, or something more special, like a military grade knife or cufflinks. Even better, consider giving someone an item that they can use on-the-go. For example, a battery powered tool to help with marine activities or a Kevlar jacket to keep them warm during winter months. Whatever your choice, make sure it is thoughtful and appreciated.
The Collingswood Coast Guard Station was originally established in 1917. It is one of the oldest coast guard stations in New Jersey and has been providing law enforcement services on the Atlantic coast since then. In 1970, it became a full-time station with an organized crime unit. In 1986, it was renamed after the late Rear Admiral John W. Collingwood Jr., who served as Superintendent of Law Enforcement for the New Jersey Division of Marine Affairs from 1984 to 1990.
Collingswood is a borough in Morris County, New Jersey, United States. The population was 11,585 at the 2010 census. Collingswood was formed as a borough on April 1, 1960 from portions of Middlesex Township and West Orange Township. As of the 2010 Census, the borough had a total area of , including (all land), (0.8%), (1.5%) and (3%) water areas. The name "Collingswood" comes from two collingwood trees which stood near the original town site. The first Collingswood home was built in 1784 by John Collingwood and his wife Hannah Tryon Hughes. The first church in Collingswood was Trinity Episcopal Church which opened on December 10th, 1851 by Revs David Weems and Nathaniel Myrick Jr.. In 1858 Reverend George Washington Harding served as pastor of Trinity Episcopal Church for 34 years until his death in 1908. In 1870 Samuel “Sam” Fenton purchased 3 acres adjacent to what is now the Borough Park section ofCollings Wood for $350 with plans to build a new town center where people could go for shopping, picnics and other social activities In 1897 Captain John Waddell founded an insurance company called Travelers National Insurance Company located at 414 Main Street On November 14th 1907 residents of Collings wood voted to form their own independent township with a population of 350 On January 1st 1912 the Borough of Middlesex Township merged into Collingswood In 1975-1976 joint planning efforts led to development around Union High School that included numerous apartments, stores and restaurants making it one of NJ's most vibrant neighborhoods during that time period
The Coast Guard Gift History Museum is a research center dedicated to preserving and sharing the maritime history of the United States Coast Guard. The museum was founded in 1984 by Rear Admiral Ronny J. Bergstrom, executive officer of the Coast Guard's Fifth District, as a means for members of the public to share their memories of friends and family who have been associated with the Coast Guard through items such as clothing, tools, ornaments, and medals. Since its inception, the museum has collected more than 4,500 gifts from individuals and organizations within the United States Coast Guard. This diverse gift history reflects both the variety and diversity of service that members of the Coast Guard provide day in and day out on our nation's waters. Gifts from individuals reflect individual giver's personalities while donations from organizations commemorate important moments or occasions within Coast Guard history. One particular aspect that makes this museum so special is its focus on coastal guard artifacts. With over 50 different artifact types available for viewing at any given time, visitors can explore every inch of this valuable collection firsthand. Additionally, there are several interactive exhibits located throughout each section of the museum which allow visitors to interact directly with curator’s displays about specific objects in order to learn more about their history and significance within our coast guard culture.
On Oct. 1, 1912, the Coast Guard was founded with a mandate to protect the coastline and its people. On Dec. 6, 1941, the Coast Guard became part of the United States Army under the command of General George S. Patton. The Coast Guard has grown to become one of America's leading law enforcement and disaster relief organizations with an array of capabilities including maritime security, environmental protection, coastal navigation and beach watch…
Collingswood was founded by the Collingwood family in 1784. The Collingwood family is one of the original families to settle in what is now New Jersey. The Collingwood home, located on the border of Collingswood and Paterson, still stands today and is a popular tourist spot. The town gradually grew around its two churches – First Presbyterian and Congregational – as well as a number of businesses. In 1854, when New Jersey became a state, Collingswood became an incorporated village with a Mayor-Council form of government. Today, there are over 100 businesses inCollingswood and it is one of the most active villages in northern NJ. The first settlers to Collingswood were farmers who had come from England during the early part of the 19th century. They were followed by mechanics and other tradesmen who established businesses inCollingswood over time. Many people from Collingwoods early years lived on Main Street which remains colloquially known as "the Strand." Over time, many new routes have been developed through colloquially named streets such as "The High Road" (now US Route 33), "The Boulevard" (now Interstate 80), "Broadway" (now Route 322) and even "Downtown." In 1854, when New Jersey became a state,collingsworth became an incorporated village with a Mayor-Council form of government Today there are over 100 businesses inCollings wood Many people from collingwoods early years lived on Main Street which remains colloquially known as “the Strand”
Collingswood was founded in 1795 by Captain James Hunter and his family. The town was named for Colonel John Collingwood, a British general who served in the American Revolution. In 1847, the town became a part of New Jersey.
Looking for a gift that will make your loved ones happy? Look no further than the coast guard. From small gifts to large donations, we have something for everyone. So why wait? Give us a call today and see what we can do for you!
Looking for a gift that will touch someone's heart? The Coast Guard is here to help! Our collection of gifts for civilians and military members includes everything from coffee mugs to dog bowls. Shop now and you'll be giving back with each purchase!